Margao, the capital and the chief town of South Goa, has a decidedly Portuguese flavour and an old world charm. Margoa is also the commercial centre of South Goa. The Math of the Vaishnavas was first established here. In 1564, the early period of Christianisation, the Jesuits built a church, which was destroyed by the Mohammedans in 1571. Finally in 1675 the present Church of the Holy Spirit was raised. One of the most magnificent of Goa's churches, with a a unique row of houses on either side of lavish architectural setup and mango tree lined rectangular square in front.
The history of Margoa can be estimated by the presence of the Pandava Caves at Aquem Alto, next to the Chapel of St. Sebastian. Margoa offers the visitor a large garden and a children's park in Gogol. The Chapel of the Monte, built in 1820 on a small promontory, provides a panoramic view of the city.
Being Goa's largest and most connected railway junction makes Margoa the gateway to south Goa. The city is replete with various sights and attractions such as the 'Closed' Market, Anna Fonte or the famous natural springs, the Church of Holy Spirit, the Monte Hill chapel and mansion. The city suburbs such as the Pajifond, Gogol, Navelim and Comba present various religious and tourist attractions. The famous St Sebastian chapel which is situated in Aquem, the 'Damodar Mandir (Saal), the 'Hari Temple' as well as the 'Maruti Mandir' and the 'Saibaba Temple' at Davorlim are a must visit in the city of Margoa.